Ravens

Once upon a midnight dreary, while I pondered, weak and weary,
Over many a quaint and curious volume of forgotten lore
While I nodded, nearly napping, suddenly there came a tapping,
As of some one gently rapping, rapping at my chamber door.
I muttered, β€œtapping at my chamber door
Only this and nothing more.

The Raven, by Edgar Allan Poe

Today, in 1849, the world lost a great poet and storyteller. He had many problems (who doesn’t though?), but his contributions to the world can’t be ignored. The Raven (quoted above) is probably one of the most well known poems in the world. I’ve quoted it here for many reasons:

–It’s because of Poe that I even started writing poetry. I don’t write a lot these days, but most of my teenage years were filled with poetry. I never went anywhere without a copy of Poe’s book, or without a small journal with which to scribble lines in. I’m trying to get back into the habit of writing poetry as it is a thing I quite enjoy. Though my mind usually goes to prose writing before lines of poetry.

–Today is Odin’s Day and Odin is associated with two ravens, Hugin and Muninn (thought and memory). It was Ravens (as well as wolves and Sleipnir) that first brought me to Odin.

–I myself feel an affinity to ravens–it’s one of the reasons why I have the name Raven (other than that it’s Odin-given).

This entry was posted in Spirituality, Storytelling and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

