To NaNo Or Not To NaNo

In a few short weeks NaNoWriMo will be upon us. I’ve participated in National Novel Writing Month for the past…8(?) years now. I’ve never “won” it, but that’s okay by me. I always used it as a jumping off point; a way to get going on a novel and gain some momentum as I find starting a new novel to be the hardest part of writing. Using NaNo to get as far into as I can (while having words that I can keep instead of words that are just there as filler) has been a big help to me in productivity. So much so that I hate to not do it one year.

But that’s exactly what’s going through my mind right now.

I can’t imagine not actually doing NaNo, but the truth is that right now I’m deep in edits on my Selkie story and I don’t think I’m going to be done before November. The other projects that I have planned are nonfiction and I haven’t done enough research to try to start on those. I could get a few things written, but by and large my nonfiction projects aren’t close to being ready for the writing phase yet.

The one project I could actually see myself working on for NaNoWriMo was the one I started back in February when I did my own version of NaNo that I dubbed NaNoWrongMo. It’s a collection of short stories–an anthology–that follows two of my favorite characters through the Wheel Of The Year. I got a few of the stories written, but not all of them. If I do NaNo this is the project I’d wind up doing. Just because I want to get this project written. It’s one that’s been on my mind for awhile. (It also wouldn’t be that hard to switch from my Selkie story to that as they work with the same characters! Timeline wise, the anthology takes place a year or so after the Selkie story does.)

This entry was posted in Storytelling and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

