Autumn In The Cemetery

Today and last night were a little emotionally rough for me. Nothing super tragic happened, just had to deal with some constructive criticism. The thing about doing that is…it’s good to get, but sometimes it jabs at places that you’re already sensitive about. I know I’m being kind of vague here, but suffice it to say that I’ve encountered some areas that I need to improve on, both in social performance and within myself. And that’s not a bad thing. But naturally, after doing that, I needed a little bit of a pick me up. I needed to run out to Michael’s to get some hooks to hang some more of our pictures with, and on the way there (and back) there is a tiny stretch of road that runs through the middle of a cemetery and is covered by a canopy of leaves. At the time I was driving home the sun was beginning to set and there was a chill bite to the air. It set my mind to swirling with stories–retellings of Sleepy Hollow (one of my favorite spoopy tales) and ghost stories of my own.

Ignore the random spots--I was taking this through my car window before I actually decided to get out and wander around.

Ignore the random spots–I was taking this through my car window before I actually decided to get out and wander around.

This tomb especially made my mind wander. What happened that they would need to cement the door shut?!

These little yellow flowers grew all over the place. I have no idea what they are, but the fact that they were growing in and near a cemetery will make me always equate them with death, Autumn, and the afterlife now.

In all actuality I didn’t take that many pictures while I was there. I simply tried to enjoy the day, absorb the season, and let my mind wander around with story ideas. Despite the frozen air, it was a really nice little side trek on this Autumn afternoon. Now I’m back at home, in my bedroom surrounded by pumpkin spice candles, working on some stuff for my Youtube project No Nostalgia Filter, and looking forward to writing in a little bit.

This entry was posted in Adventures and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

