Winter Is Coming

From my paper journal:

I bought Winter stickers today. I smelled cinnamon pinecones and wanted to buy them, too. I think I’ve accepted that Winter is coming even if I don’t want it to. I’ve also become one of those people that wants to go from Samhain to Yule. I don’t want cornucopias around. I want trees and lights and (fake) snowflakes. I like the “theme” of Thanksgiving–that of being thankful–but I dislike how the holiday came to be. Pilgrims weren’t thankful for what they had. They kept taking more and running Native Americans out of their homes. That’s not being thankful for what you have. That’s wanting more and taking it by force. I guess that’s why I like Mabon so much. It is essentially Thanksgiving just without the racism and white privilege.

Photo by Raven

Photo by Raven

This entry was posted in Raven 101. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

