Year of Reclaiming

Happy New Year!!

I’ve been incommunicado both here and on most social media (with Twitter being the exception. I did make a few posts there) as I’ve been taking a much needed break from everything. This past year I worked a lot. I had a lot of fun, too (and I love my dayjob), but towards the end of the year I was feeling a lot of burn out. I was making so many mistakes in a lot of things, and just not feeling up to par. So I decided that when I took time off from my dayjob to go to an annual New Year’s party down in Baltimore that my friends host for five days, I’d just take a break from everything. And it was FANTASTIC. Today is my first day back from that, and the break has left me feeling better than ever. I feel refreshed and restored and ready to tackle the world again. ❀

I didn’t make any resolutions this year execpt one: to listen to myself. I’ve spent a large part of my life trying to be what everyone else wants me to be. I’ve altered the way I act, think, react, and do things because I wanted so desperately to be liked and to fit in with my friends. But that’s made me a little dull because it’s left me terrified of doing something wrong. This year I want to change that. My friends like me, and regardless of what I do or say, my true feelings (etc) will show through in the end. In some ways, I feel like I’ve lost who I am. I…don’t want that to be the case anymore. I want to find myself, embrace that girl, and get to know her once more. And so this year will be the Year of Reclaiming for me.

Looking back at the photos I took of my New Year’s celebration I find myself wishing I took more, but I was more focused on relaxing and just enjoying my time there. If you’d like to see the ones I did take they are located over on my flickr. I hope you all had a great time and that this year will be a positive one for you!

This entry was posted in Raven 101. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Year of Reclaiming

  1. Pingback: I’m Vegetarian!; Or, Year of Reclaiming Update | The Life Of A Raven

Leave a Reply

