Every Winter This Happens

I’ve been going through a very dry period when it comes to writing lately. Not in the sense of writing things with dry humor, or that are humorless. But more in the sense in that I’ve been writing nothing. I have ideas–many, many ideas–and I get more every day. I drive to work at my dayjob and play the “what if” game in my head all the time. I listen to music nonstop and often times songs will inspire stories. I’ve even started creating a playlist for a novel I’ve had in my head for awhile and just haven’t written. It’s about a woman who flees from her best friend–the man she’s been living with and pretending to be in a relationship with to hide the fact that they are both gay–and moves to a new town to start her career, but also runs into the woman of her dreams. I’ve had this story in my head for so long. Almost a year now. I’ve jotted down notes and title ideas. I’ve tried coming up with names for the main character, but…still nothing yet.

There’s also the story I’ve started telling on my deviantart. It’s a different kind of story with a very niche audience, but I love the characters so much and have an idea where I want the story to go. I just haven’t been able to bring myself to carry on with it either.

Part of this dry spell I blame on Winter. I tend to curl into myself in the colder months. We haven’t had much of the Winter that generally comes with December and January–my area hasn’t had any snow this year! None. No measurable amount anyway. We had flurries once about a week after Yule, but other than that? Nada. (Which I’m perfectly fine with!) But the lack of natural light and the frigid air making me want to stay inside instead of venturing out still takes it’s effect on me. I tend to want to just stay in warm blankets, curled up on my bed or couch with a good book and hot chocolate. And that’s what I’ve done most of the Winter.

I’m currently in the middle of reading three books. Well, two really. I put Celtic Magic aside until I finish the Prose Eddas, especially since I’m also in the midst of Red Rising. My boyfriend has recently joined a new podcast and Red Rising is the book they are reading for their next recording. It’s really good. They’ve read a lot of good books so far. I don’t always read what they are reading, but when Angelo told me about this book I had to join in.

I’ve managed to be creative in other ways aside from writing. I made soap for the first time ever, and made candles, too! I’ve discovered a huge love for both of those things and can see myself continuing this in the future. I’ve already decided that I’m probably going to make all of our soap from now on. Just because it’s fun, and I can infuse it with all the cocoa butter and aloe (I have an aloe plant <3) that I want and make it whatever scent that I want. (The current soap we have is grapefruit scented, but the next scent I use is going to be tea tree!)

I don’t understand why I can be so motivated to be creative in other ways, but not to write. In the Spring, Summer, and Autumn I’m always writing. I rarely put my pen down. But in the Winter? It’s like my muse takes a vacation and goes to live in the warmer climates.

I did get a nice surprise at work today. Yesterday I gave one of my friends (who is also my coworker!) a ride and helped him out doing some petsitting gigs that he has. Because he wanted to show me his appreciation for the help he brought me a gift today.

23740331883_8b690fc335_z

Two of those are statues of the Hindu god Ganesha, who is very awesome. I’ve worked with Him before, though it’s been quite awhile now. It’s funny He’s been popping up in my life here and there once again. One thing Ganesha is known for is being a remover of obstacles. Perhaps He can help move whatever is blocking me from being able to write 😛 *crosses her fingers and lights a candle*

This entry was posted in Storytelling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

