Bright, Blessed Imbolc!

Imbolc blessings! Many people celebrate the holiday today, but I myself make it into a two day event. This happens because in my early days of Paganism there was debate over whether the holiday was celebrated on the 1st or the 2nd of February. There is still some confusion it seems in the larger Pagan community, so I settled it personally by just celebrating both days! This is especially appropriate for my personal path because Brigid is my matron goddess, and so having a big celebration in Her honor is highly appropriate!

24133832724_5fc87c99af_z

Brigid Kitchen Altar

In years past I’ve typically treated this as a writing retreat of sorts where I curl up with my WIP, some music, and whatever hot beverage I preferred at the time (sometimes coffee, sometimes hot chocolate) and passed hours and hours getting lost in my stories. This year has been a little different.

Today began with me being awake until 5am cleaning my kitchen. I don’t know why I was so compelled to clean it. Perhaps it’s because it was driving me crazy. Maybe it was because “Spring” cleaning and house cleasning are typical Imbolc activities. Either way, I scrubbed the stove and wiped down the counter and swiffered the tile floor until I could hardly keep my eyes open anymore. The cleaning continued into today when I cleaned up the bathroom a little and straightened up the living room in preparation for the rest of the No Nostalgia Filter members coming over to do some recording and enjoy some Butterscotch Cinnamon Pie! Because we are geeks and total Undertrash and that’s what a kitchen witch creates the night before her matron goddess’ festival XD

24394986749_e6f089d8f7_z

Homemade Butterscotch Cinnamon Pie! #Undertale

As is tradition for me I am tending the flame tonight voluntarily. This is something I do every Imbolc as a way to honor my goddess, and as a small way to rededicate every year to being a Flamekeeper. I will do a proper ritual and proper rededication to Brigid later tonight. It’s been several years since I first dedicated and reaffirming my dedication feels incredibly right to do tonight. ❤

Tomorrow (up until I have to go to my dayjob) will be my writing retreat day in which I spend the entire day working on my latest WIP. Either sometime tomorrow or Wednesday I will share some of the raw, unedited fruit of my labor–an excerpt from a future release!

On a slightly related note, I have been participating in Joanna Powell Colbert‘s 30 Days of Brigid over on Instagram, and as of today am also doing Dahlia Adler‘s Author Life Month prompts. Follow me over there to keep up with my pictures and responses to each of the prompts!

This entry was posted in Spirituality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bright, Blessed Imbolc!

  1. Pingback: An Excerpt from my next release! | The Life Of A Raven

Leave a Reply

