Happy April, No Foolin’!

I am buzzing with happy, exciting energy lately. I’ll share details soon! But, let’s talk about today. Today is April 1st, which means it’s the beginning of National Poetry Month. Every year I say I’m going to write a poem every day in April and…I usually end up failing. Not because I don’t enjoy it, but because I don’t put enough priority in it–I give myself the excuse of “oh, I’ll just write two tomorrow to catch up”. And then it becomes three…four…five…until eventually I’m so behind that I can’t catch up. (Note: I don’t mean write, edit, and have a finished poem all in one day. I simply mean get the rough draft down so that later I can tweak it.) Β Saying I’m setting the same goal for myself this year might sound like I’m setting myself up for failure, but…I’m going to give it another shot.

Back in my high school days when people asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up I used to answer “a poet”. I always got snickers even from my writer friends. Today’s society doesn’t value poetry, and it is pretty impossible to make your living at JUST poetry…unfortunately. It’s a beautiful artform, but it’s not nearly appreciated enough.

These days my focus is more on prose–YA queer fiction and Pagan nonfiction (and fiction!). But I haven’t lost my love of writing poetry, and since both Brigid and Odin have domain over poetry, I can’t really ignore it (not that I’d want to). So, I’m going to set myself this crazy goal that I’ve failed at several times in the past and hold myself to it. I’m going to set myself a reward, too, just to give me that extra motivation. If I can manage to get all 31 poems written AND NOT GET BEHIND, I’ll buy a print of the Shadowscapes 8 of Pentacles. I’ve been wanting one for awhile, and it seemed like the most appropriate reward given that when I was organizing my tarot cards earlier this one stood out to me. The message wasn’t lost on me either.

~*~

In addition to this goal, I’m also going to do something else that I’ve been wanting to do….for a long time. I’m going to take another journey through the tarot. The way I learned the traditional meaning of the cards years ago was to go through one by one, in order, the card a day thing. I did that with the Mystic Faerie Tarot, and it was a fantastic deck to learn on! (If you’re just getting into tarot and want to do something like this, I really can’t recommend the Mystic Faerie Tarot enough. Especially if you are drawn to the world of the fae. <3) I finished the journey, and then was almost immediately pulled to the Runes and began an intensive study of them. I still read Runes and love them, and I don’t plan to give that up at all. But I do want to deepen my knowledge of the cards and reacquaint myself with them. So today I will also begin a journey through the tarot.

Every day I’ll post a picture of the day’s card with a short description over on my Instagram. Feel free to follow along there!

This entry was posted in Raven 101 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy April, No Foolin’!

  1. Pingback: April Updates | The Life Of A Raven

  2. Pingback: May Update! | The Life Of A Raven

Leave a Reply

