Happy Pride Month!

19080728789_f463ecf267_z

I’ve been going to NYC Pride fest since I moved here three years ago. Every year I go, and every year while there I always SWEAR that the following year I won’t go. My usual routes home get blocked off because they are part of the parade route and so I wind up having a small panic attack when I start feeling trapped and like I can’t get away from the humongous crowd for even a few minutes. But then after a few months (and especially come the following January) I start itching for it. Pride is such an amazing experience. It’s really liberating and affirming to go and be around people who are just like you, openly accept you, and where you can see two girls kissing without hearing negative comments.

This year, obviously, I am going again. And I’m so looking forward to it. ❀ The energy at Pride is like nothing else I’ve experienced. I went to Indiana’s before I moved and even that doesn’t compare to NYC Pride. It’s just unreal. The energy, the smiles, the love, the pure joy and freedom there…it’s probably one of the best experiences of my year.

I’ll also be going to another Pride festival this year, though this one is in New Jersey (where I live). One of my good friends is hosting his birthday party there. I’m really excited. I’ve never been to this Pride festival so it’ll be a new experience for me. Though I’m sure it’ll be just as amazing as NYC Pride.

Are you going to Pride this year? What has your experience at your Pride festival been like? πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Raven 101 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

