FREE Lesbian Short Story!; Or, HAPPY PRIDE!

HAPPY PRIDE!!! I’m heading off to the NYC Pride Parade in just a little bit, but first I thought I would share with you the very first lesbian story I ever wrote. I don’t remember how old I was (maybe 18-19?), but the memory of curling up on my couch with my journal a pink pen to write this is so strong in me even to this day. I’ll never forget the way my heart hammered in my chest as I tried to do what I was sure no one had done before (I had never read a lesbian story at this point!). It was so thrilling, and I loved it so much that I knew then and there that writing lesbian stories was what I had to do.

I hope you enjoy. ❤

~*~

           Jamie’s family had been going to the same Florida beach house for summertime since she was a little girl. Her summertime best friend, Anna, always showed up a week after Jamie arrived. This year however when Jamie arrived Anna was already there waiting for her. The first things the girls did when they saw each other the first time was to embrace tightly. When they pulled away Jamie’s skin was tingling.
Over the winter Jamie had caught herself on more than one occasion looking at other girls. But this was Anna, the girl that was practically a sister to her. She couldn’t be feeling anything but friendship for her…could she?
The two girls arranged to have a sleep over that same night but instead of sleeping they would stay up the whole night talking. One of the rituals they had each summer. The girls split up to get ready for the night. Anna was on video patrol while Jamie had food duty. When Anna showed up on Jamie’s doorstep later that evening Jamie immediately ordered the cheese pizza. It was easiest since both girls were vegetarians. Jamie led Anna down the hall to her room and the girls spread out their sleeping bags side by side. Jamie had always told Anna everything even the time she crashed her mother’s car into a tree but let her cousin take the fall for it. But this was different, how would Anna react? Anna was busy babbling about how she had gotten the lead in all three school plays the past year. Anna was a budding actress and a prrety one at that. She had long blond hair that shined like the sun and deep ocean blue eyes. A girl could get lost in those eyes.
“Jamie, Jamie,” she heard Anna calling. “What are you thinking about?”
Jamie wasn’t sure she was ready to tell Anna about her interests. At that very moment the doorbell rang signaling the pizza had arrived. Jamie hopped up and excused herself while she ran down the hall to get the pizza. When she returned Anna had already put on Eurotrip and they ate in silence for awhile just watching the movie.
After her second slice of pizza Jamie couldn’t stay quiet anymore and she reached and paused the movie. “Anna, have you ever…nevermind.”
“What? You can say it. Have I ever looked at a girl?”
Jamie looked at Anna eyes wide. “How did you know what I was going to ask?”
Anna laughed. “Well, it’s hard not to notice you checking out Michelle Trachtenberg.”          Jamie blushed. There was a moment of silence between the two friends. “Yes I have.” Anna said. “To be honest I’m surprised you had to ask me.” Jamie gave her a quizzical look. “Have you ever heard me talk about guys? Or even seen me look at one?” Come to think of it Jamie hadn’t heard her talk about or look at any guys. “I’m a lesbian, Jamie. I just never knew how to tell you. I didn’t want you to flip out on me. Your friendship means more to me than anything.” Jamie just looked at Anna letting everything soak in. “What about you? Are you interested at all in girls?” Anna asked moving a little closer to Jamie.
“Yea, the past year I’ve caught myself looking at girls.” Jamie said.
“Have you ever kissed a girl?” Anna asked and Jamie shook her head no. “Would you like to?”
Jamie thought for a minute. She had wondered all year what it was like to kiss a girl. The thought of it alone made her feel different. Not a bad different, a good different. She thought of what it would be like to kiss Anna. Jamie had known from the minute she had seen her this summer that she liked Anna. But if they kissed, would they start to date? And if they did date would that ruin their friendship? After a few minutes of careful consideration Jamie nodded her head yes. Anna reached over and turned off the lights and TV and shut the door so they could have some privacy. She sat right back down next to her.           “Have you ever kissed a girl?” Jamie asked suddenly taking Anna off guard.
“Yes, now just relax.” Anna said and ran her hand down the side of Jamie’s face.                     Jamie closed her eyes and let herself take in the sensation of Anna’s skin on hers. Anna’s lips were warm and soft when she kissed her. It sent an exhilerating sensation all through Jamie’s body like a roller coaster that had just taken off. Jamie wished the kiss would never end but a few seconds later Anna pulled back.
Jamie’s eyes remained closed as she tried to make an impression in her mind of what the kiss felt like. Her first kiss with another girl and a true confirmation that she was atleast bisexual. “So…how was your first kiss with a girl?” Anna asked after a few minutes.
“Great,” was all Jamie said. After that the girls laid down facing eachother. “Can I ask you a question?” Jamie asked after awhile.
“You can ask me anything. I’m an open book,” Anna said.
“Well, actually I have several questions. Like…do your parents know? Do the kids at your school know and if so do they treat you any differently? Have you ever had a girlfriend? Is it the same as going with a guy?”
Anna held up her hands. “Woah, hold on. No, no one knows except you and five or six of my friends back home. Yes, I’ve had a girlfriend and I wouldn’t know if it’s different than going out with a guy because I’ve never dated a guy. I tried to tell one of my friends that I had known since preschool but when I did he just quit calling me and didn’t take my calls. We never talk anymore.” Anna said quietly.
Jamie thought for a minute. “Is that why you were sad last year? Had you just told him?” Anna nodded. “Aw, Anna I sorry.”
“It’s alright. I’ve learned to deal with it. It’s the price you pay for trying to be honest with people about who you are.”
“You said you had a girlfriend. What’s her name, how long were you together, are you still together?” Jamie fired off her second round of questions.
“Her name is Melissa, I called her Melly. No we’re not together anymore. We were together seven months.”
“What happened to her? Why did you guys break up?” Jamie asked, her curiosity getting the better of her.
“She found a guy that she would rather be with. She said she didn’t want to be known as the neighborhood dyke. She wanted to be normal. What is normal anyway?” Anna mused aloud.
“When did you guys break up?”
“A few weeks ago. It’s why we came early. My parents couldn’t figure out why I was so depressed so they thought a change of scenery would do me good. They convinced my teachers to let me take the finals early and we left after that.” Anna said, a few tears making their way down her cheeks. Jamie wrapped her armas around her friend tightly telling Anna that everything would be ok. They had each other now. The two girls feel asleep like that and didn’t wake up til the next morning.
The next day the girls hung out at the beach just getting tans and plaing in the water. Occasionally one would make a comment about how cute another girl was but no one said anything about boys all day long. For Anna it was a welcome change. Her parents were always asking her why she didn’t have a boyfriend. “Your sister had her first boyfriend when she was just 13,” they would say.
“Anna, can I ask you something?” Jamie asked breaking the silence that had formed around them.
“You know you can ask me anything.”
Jamie took a deep breath. “When we kissed last night, did that…that didn’t change anything between us…did it?” she asked tentatively.
“Not unless you wanted it to.” Anna said, looking Jamie directly in the eye. “Do you?”
“If you’re asking me if I like you, then the answer is yes. But Anna I don’t want to ruin our friendship. And at the end of the summer what do we do?”
Anna took Jamie’s hand in hers. “I like you too. I have for a long time. Just didn’t want to frighten you away. I never dreamed you would like me too. It wouldn’t ruin our friendship if we didn’t let it. No matter what I will always be your friend. And at the end of the summer if we still feel this way then we’ll find a way to stay in touch and see each other. We both have email and our own jobs.” She stopped there and waited a few minutes. “So, do you want that kiss to change things?”
Jamie didn’t need time to think this time, she knew what she wanted whole heartedly. She leaned over and lightly kissed Anna, whispering “yes” in her ear just before she did.

line_rainbow

If you would like to read my other FREE lesbian stories, you can find them all listed here~ ❤

This entry was posted in Storytelling and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

