Pride Part 1: Tributes

I still owe the big Pride post, but the thing I really wanted to touch on today was the tribute they did to Orlando.

27312835633_d2e545d420_z

A group of people (I’m sorry I don’t remember who) donned white clothing and marched in the parade, each one holding a different name of the Orlando victims. It was one of the most touching things I’ve ever seen in a parade ever. A gentle hush fell over the entire crowd as they passed by. I can’t say everyone was silent, but there was a noticeable volume difference.

At another point in the parade another group laid down in the middle of the streets asking “how many more”. As in how many more had to die before gun laws are revisited and possibly ammended. I don’t want to get into politics here (though if anyone wants to talk about them, I’ll happily do so in private messages. I simply don’t want the comments section to blow up into a big political debate), but I will say that I was glad to see this display.

27313734704_c12a58f119_z

I’ll make up a proper Pride post in the next couple days, but I wanted to take a few moments to mention these displays as they were some of the most memorable–if not solemn–ones from this Pride.

This entry was posted in Raven 101 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

