Writer Wednesday: Author Tag!

About a month or so ago I discovered Jenna Moreci’s Youtube channel and I’ve adored her videos ever since. They are inspiring and very informative, and it’s really great to see someone who enjoys the same things I do deal with some of the same problems I face. I’ve watched probably all of her videos at this point (I’m admitting that at the risk of sounding like a creeper), and found a couple of her tag videos pretty interesting. I like questionnaire stuffs so I thought I’d tackle a couple of the ones she did in blog form since I don’t (yet) have a vlog. Today I’m doing the Author Tag! If you’re a writer and want to do this, feel free to join along!

1. Where is your favorite place to write?

This depends on the day. I don’t have one set place that I write. The most common spot I write in is on my couch with my coffee table being my desk of sorts. Some days though, I just need to be out around people to people watch while I write and so I’ll go to a coffee shop (usually my local Starbucks).

2. Coffee or tea?

Coffee, no competition. Iced coffee preferably, but hot is good, too. Caramel (especially caramel iced coffees from Dunkin Donuts) and Vanilla are my favorites~

3. Favorite book of all time.

I don’t really have one. I like a lot of books, but there isn’t really one book I go to again and again to reread or anything. I’m not a fan of rereading books because there are so many out there that I want to read that I find it hard to spend the time rereading something I’ve already read.

4. NaNo, yes or no?

Yes! Though I don’t usually use for it the purpose that everyone else does. My goal isn’t necessarily to finish the first draft of a manuscript, but to get a significant way through it. I have trouble starting new projects (though I have a million ideas for them), so having a challenge to get as much written in one month as possible is really helpful. I get a significant way in and that momentum propels me on to finish. Plus it’s really fun to go to write-ins and meet other local writers!

5. Genre you would write if you had no restrictions.

Okay, I admit I don’t really understand this question. I don’t see that any of us writers have restrictions on us when it comes to what genre we write in. Unless we are talking about a super established writer who if they suddenly deviate from their norm would lose fans (and then at that point you should just use a pen name and write what you want anyway).

6. If you could have one superpower, what would it be?

Probably telekinesis. I admit to being a lazy girl, but the idea of being able to make and pour coffee while sitting on my couch and writing (or watching TV) would be awesome. It would also inevitably prove invaluable when my falls asleep on me and my book is just out of reach.

7. Favorite author.

If you had asked me this question when I was a teenager or in my early 20’s I would have said Christine Feehan. I said not long ago that she was still one of my favorites, but that’ more because she was the author than initially inspired me to write. But who’s books do I enjoy a lot? Who’s work can I turn to time and again to get lost in an engaging story? That would probably be Holly Black. I’m also quite fond of Edgar Allan Poe (when I initially adopted my cat I thought about naming her Annabelle after Annabelle Lee!), Libba Bray, and Malinda Lo.

8. What kind of music do you listen to when you write?

It really depends on what I’m working on. I’m not a writer that makes a playlist for each book, but I do pick music that carries the same energy for whatever I’m working on. This usually involves country songs from a variety of eras as I’m a huge country fan.

9. If you could live anywhere, where would that be?

I currently live in New Jersey and, frankly, I love it here. I don’t really want to move away from here. If I was forced to move from here to another state in the US I’d probably pick Colorado or California. If I had to pick another country, then probably Ireland or Australia.

10. What do you do when you get writer’s block?

Take pictures! Having a second creative hobby is a great way to let your mind take a break from one thing and sort of relax on it. I generally find that if I zone out into photography mode (especially if there is music involved) then I can get over whatever is blocking me. If that’s being unsure which direction I want a story to go, I am finally able to make a decision. If I’m just feeling low and sort of insecure about myself or my writing, taking a great shot can really help me regain my confidence.

line_rainbow

Look out for Raven’s upcoming book, Seaborne (a NA Lesbian Magical Realism novella), which is being released on September 18, 2016. And if you simply need more lesbian fiction before then, check out her free lesbian stories~!

This entry was posted in Storytelling and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

