Honesty

Real talk.

I’m terrified. I’ve been having a really hard time lately. Every single time there is news out of Washington I cringe and feel even more like we are headed towards the apocalypse. Do you remember in Lord of the Rings when Frodo gets a glimpse of the Shire when he’s with Galadriel? Right after Trump was announced president elect I got a similar vision of this world, America, in that state. Perhaps I’m being over dramatic, but I really don’t feel like I am. I feel like I have a dark cloud hanging over my head lately, or like there’s this huge black cloud slowly rolling in over the United States. Every single time there’s news from Washington it gets just a little darker.

I’m pro-choice.

I strongly and vehemently oppose the Dakota Access Pipeline.

I’m a queer woman who is passionate about equality.

I’m a woman that believes every woman should have say over her own body.

I’m a nature loving Pagan that doesn’t know how anyone can deny climate change.

I am descended from people who came from Europe and believe (to quote Cher Horwitz) “it does not say RSVP on the Statue of Liberty”.

I know that what Trump is doing isn’t a direct attack on me. But I can’t help but feel torn down a little more with every action he takes. Everything I stand for and believe in is everything he is against. Everything I am he believes doesn’t deserve respect or basic rights. I honestly cannot understand his way of thinking. I’ve tried. I want to understand the other side so that I know better how to show them the harm they are doing. But I can’t. Seeing from their perspective requires thinking of certain people as less than or not deserving of certain things. I can’t do that. I don’t know how. I have never in my life considered one person to be less worthy of any right than the person next to them regardless of race, ethnicity, sexuality, gender identity, or religion. Yet Trump is single handedly dismantling me. Or that’s how it feels anyway. One by one he’s destroying everything we’ve fought so hard and so long for. I feel like if we are forced to endure four years of his presidency we’ll wind up with things back like they were in the 50’s. I’ve noticed a trend of retro fashion making a come back, but I sure as hell don’t want the societal standards of the 50’s to come back with it.

Sometimes the fight gets tiring, and I want nothing more than to crawl under blankets and bury myself in books and stories of my own making. Those days are needed as I can’t help anyone else if I myself can’t even manage to get out of bed. But even though I may take those days every now and then, I will never give up. I will never stop fighting. Because when we stop fighting that’s when they win. That’s when things get really dicey. The resistance must never die.

This entry was posted in Raven 101 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

