Camp NaNoWriMo?; Or, Too Many Projects!

I’ve decided this year for the first time ever that I’m going to be doing Camp NaNoWriMo. I think what made me decide was the combination of simply loving the community that regular NaNoWriMo brings, and the fact that April is poetry month. Every April I strive to write one poem a day for the entire month (thus resulting in me having 30 poems at the end of the month). This year I’m finally working on a thing I’ve wanted to write since I was a teenager, but just never put the time or energy into (for various reasons), and all these poems will be contributing to that.

If you guessed that I’m working on a poetry collection, you’d be right!

I’ve avoided talking about this for a myriad of reasons, and I still don’t want to talk about it too much. BUT I will say that if you’ve been keeping up with my monthly goals, you will note that every month I’ve had the goal of “write 5 poems”. That has been my way of slowly working on this while allowing myself time and energy to work on my prose projects.

I’ll give more details on this project as time goes on and I get it closer to completion, but a working title that I have for this project is THROUGH THE MISTS.

However, with all of this in the works, I’ve considered giving myself a second Camp NaNo project–a prose project. Remember that short story anthology I mentioned last month that I wanted to have ready to release in June? That’s still a thing…sort of. I’ve changed things a little bit. Instead of releasing an anthology at the beginning of June, here’s what I’m planning to do. Right now, my passion and muse are geared towards SOMEONE LIKE YOU and THROUGH THE MISTS. So that’s where I want to put all of my focus. Instead of releasing an anthology at the beginning of June, I’m thinking of releasing SOMEONE LIKE YOU at that time, and then throughoutu the month of April posting a few FREE lesbian short stories. At the end of the month then I would compile them all into an anthology and sell it with a few previously unreleased stories thrown in.

This is what I’m thinking of and will probably end up doing. The problem with being a writer who has a million ideas and things she wants to release, but not enough hours in the day is that sometimes things get shuffled around like this. I’ll give more details when we get closer to April and I get things more finalized.

In the meantime, if you’re doing Camp NaNoWriMo let me know your username in the comments and we can be cabin buddies. I’m Ravenscribe over there (just like on regular NaNo)!

This entry was posted in Storytelling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

