Camp NaNoWriMo and National Poetry Month!

Tomorrow is the beginning of April and therefore the start of Camp NaNoWriMo and National Poetry Month. What does a Pagan author do when the two fall together? Work on a Pagan Poetry Collection of course! I was going to do the “write a poem every day in the month of April” thing anyway, and this just kind of gives me guidance, encourages that pattern, and allows me to work on a thing I’ve wanted to do for years.

And I do mean years. I began writing poetry the moment that I first got into Paganism. I’m not sure why I immediately started writing poetry at that point, but I did. I had a brown (fake) leather notebook that I carried about with me everywhere and I filled it with poems. Every time my mom would turn around I was writing. If it wasn’t in my journal it was in this notebook. Oh how I wish I still had it. The poems in it were mediocre at very best, but it would be nice to read back through it and see where I was in my poetry and what my 16 year old self put to verse.

In those years I found myself wishing for a collection of Pagan poetry, but I found none. Not even online. So this project is sort of a gift to my teenage self, and to anyone else just starting out (or well seasoned!) on their Paganism journey. I’ll give more details about it’s contents and such as the month progresses, but just in the minimal planning I’ve done there are seven section or categories of poems. I didn’t actually want to plan too much as I wanted to let this be more of an organic “go where the muse leads me” sort of thing, and I’m excited to see what all I come up with!

If you’re doing Camp NaNoWriMo and want to be part of my cabin, send me a request! To everyone else, happy National Poetry Month!

writepoetry

This entry was posted in Storytelling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

