One Year

It’s been one year since Pulse. One year to the day. I have no words to say that can make what happened better. I have no sentiments that will ease the ache of those lost. All I have is memories and condolences for the 49 victims of that Orlando night club and those who lost people there. It was tragic, horrendous, and undoubtedly a hate crime. So many, last year, tried to brush it off as not a hate club. But it was. Forty-nine people were killed at a gay night club during Pride month. To ignore that this was clearly a hate crime is foolish and dangerous.

Over the weekend I went to a wedding and celebrated the love between two good friends. There was much merriment and many laughs. We all had a good time.

Today I am quiet and my thoughts go back to a year ago, to those we lost and I can’t help but quietly weep. How could anyone feel so much hate to kill people they don’t even know? I don’t understand it, and I think I never will.

Even before Pulse I was committed to being “Out and Proud” so to speak, to never hide who I am because it might make some people uncomfortable. No one should have to live in fear of just being who they are. LGBT folk are no different from you. We love our partners and want a good life together without violence and a safe place to keep our (fur)babies well.

All month long I’ve been gearing up for one of my favorite times of year–NYC Pride. I adore it and love it. The atmosphere there is amazing. I’ve gone every year since moving here~ Last year they had a few sections of the parade dedicated to the Pulse shooting, to the victims. They did a great job. ❀

27312835633_d2e545d420_z

Each person represents one of the 49 victims

27746707511_9ab511b69f_z

We will never forget ❀

This entry was posted in Raven 101 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

