By The Light of a Candle’s Flame

Today (technically tonight and tomorrow–from sunset to sunset) is one of my beloved flameshifts for my patron Goddess, Brigid. So, in light of that, I decided to share several little updates about the creative things I have going on in my life~ ❤

~ The other day my partner and I made candles. I made one in particular for use specifically on flameshifts. It’s scented with a mix of Rose and Vanilla, and is housed in a jar that was originally home to Loganberry jam. I bring up the jam because if you ever get the chance to try it, I highly recommend it. It’s quite delicious~

35686564440_9041397fd1_z

~ I’ve been reading  A Court of Mist and Fury and loving it. If you haven’t read this series yet, I highly recommend it. I’m about halfway through this book (which is the second in the series) and find it very hard to put down. I’m blowing through it at record speed for me, and soon will pick up the third and final installment and likely blow through it as well.

~ In other reading news, a friend lent me a copy of Grave Peril by Jim Butcher. I’ve never read any of the Dresden Files, but have wanted to for awhile. So I am also reading that. I’m not very far in, but so far I am quite enjoying it.

~ I have been participating in Camp NaNoWriMo this month, though when I first signed up my plan was to work on my Pagan Poetry collection. I had set myself the goal of 15 poems this month. It wound up turning into 30 as the Camp NaNo website won’t let you set a goal smaller than that. However, I started writing this cute little fantasy story just after the first of the month and find myself routinely drawn to it. So earlier this week I decided to change my Camp NaNo focus (and my July goal regarding Camp NaNo) to “Write 30 pages of the lesbian fantasy story”. I do still want to write a few poems, but admittedly I’m really into this story. (The title I have listed on the Camp NaNo website is a bullshit one that is just meant to be a place holder.)

~ Why a page count instead of word count? Because I’m handwriting this story. For awhile now I’ve found it difficult to write any fiction, and it’s largely because I keep getting hung up on word counts. In addition, a story idea slammed into me while I was out and about and therefore not around my computer. Instead of waiting until I got home, I just pulled out my notebook and started writing. It’s been helping me get back to writing more, and I haven’t wanted to change much as I don’t want to break the thing that is fixing the thing that was actually broken.

~ In addition, I am also considering doing the #30DaysMagicalRoots challenge in August. I’ve been wanting to talk a little bit more about my spiritual practice, and I’m really getting back into my practice and infusing my life more with magic, and I think that would be an excellent way to help myself develop it more.

This entry was posted in Raven 101 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to By The Light of a Candle’s Flame

  1. Pingback: Book Blog Newbie Tag – Book Hooked Nook

  2. Yay for Camp NaNo! I did my first one in April, couldn’t resist taking part again in July and am seriously considering doing the full 50k word NaNoWriMo in November. I love running into other people online who are also taking part in these challenges 🙂

    Like

  3. The rose and vanilla combination sounds like it would be an amazing pairing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

