Book Blog Newbie Tag!

I’m not exactly new to the blogging world (I’ve had this blog for about two years, and had another one prior to that), but I adore tags. Plus I haven’t always blogged about books. My dear friendΒ Sarah Campbell tagged me in this several weeks ago, but because I was so busy preparing for–and then going on–vacation I’m just now getting to it~

35722663283_cef56ccaaa_z

Q1. Why did you start this blog?

I love books and sharing my thoughts on them. Plus I wanted to have a place to chronicle my writing journey and, to some extent, my spiritual explorations with those who might be interested. Writing has always been a way for me to make sense of the world, and having a place to write publicly like this was always appealing to me.

Q2. What are some fun and unique things you can bring to book blogging?

I tend to view the books I read (fiction and nonfiction) through a Pagan, queer, and feminist perspectives. Given that I am all three of those things, I read a wide selection of things and will always speak up if something does one of those areas exceptionally well or very poorly I will note it.

Q3. What are you most excited about this new blog?

I love sharing my love of books and writing with the world. Also my adventures.

Q4. Why do you love reading?

Books allow me to escape into a different world. I can be anyone or do anything all without leaving my living room. That’s the magic in them. We can live a completely different life than we actually have, see how another person lives, do things we’re scared to do. There’s nothing quite as enthralling as getting lost in a book.

Q5. What book or series got you into reading?

Geez, I’m not really sure. As a child of four or five my dad would read me stories like The Black Cauldron and Slip The Otter Finds a Home. My grandma read me Melinda Belinda all the time. I’ve been in love with books since before I can really remember. The first series I really followed was the Circle of Three by Isobel Bird, but I’d read tons of stand alones before that.

Q6. What questions would you ask your favourite authors?

All of the cliche ones like “what inspired _____?”, but also “What is your writing process?”. Because as a fellow writer I’m kind of obsessed with hearing about other writers processes and writing habits.

Q7. What challenges do you think starting a blog will be the hardest to overcome?

Honestly? Just letting people know that it exists. In all honesty, there are so many blogs out there and it’s really easy to get drowned in the sea of them. Finding a way to let people know this place exists will be like an ant climbing a mountain. But that’s okay. I started this blog partially for selfish reasons (see question 1~).

Q8. When did you start reading?

I kind of already answered this a couple questions ago I guess. Though I suppose I started reading on my own (without someone reading to me) as soon as I learned how to.

Q9. Where do you read?

Oh geez, anywhere! There is no one specific place. Though I admit, reading on the beach this past week was quite fun! I suppose the place I wind up the most is on my couch with a blanket, coffee, and my kitten~ ❀

Q10. What kind of books do you like to read?

Just about anything and everything. I admit to preferring books with LGBT characters and/or Pagan characters. But I read just about anything–YA, adult romance, spiritual nonfiction, etc.

Now comes the part when I’m supposed to tag someone. But in all honesty, I tag whoever reads this and wants to do it!

This entry was posted in Storytelling and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book Blog Newbie Tag!

  1. greycatsidhe says:

    Fun! Maybe I’ll do this on my new Tumblr blog just because it’s more focused on my writing and things that may not always be specific to Paganism. I still feel weird about starting a whole new blog, yet another thing, etc… But I’m trying it out.

    Like

  2. Such a lovely post! I’ll try to put this in schedule, too. Though I’m not actually a newbie, either…

    Like

Leave a Reply

